Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus. CCSK vs CCSP Prerequisites & Salary: Which is Right for You?




CCSK vs CCSP: Comparing Cloud Security Certifications

Vinay Agrawal

Vinay Agrawal

Last updated 08/02/2024

CCSK vs CCSP: Comparing Cloud Security Certifications

CCSK and CCSP : Cloud Security Certifications

These two are kind of the most important cloud certifications in today’s world. One might wonder, “What’s the difference? I can just go for any of them!”

But there are, in fact, a few important differences that you might not be aware of. 

In this blog, we are going to talk about those particular differences in detail.  

As the world slowly moves towards the cloud platform more and more every day, the number of cloud certifications is increasing. Among them, CCSK and CCSP are the certifications cloud professionals are more likely to go for.

Reason? Of course, there is a better pay package and tons of job opportunities.

So, what do these certifications offer exactly? Let’s have a closer look at that.

CCSK vs CCSP: Which One Is Better?

What is CCSK?

CCSK is the abbreviation for a Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge. Recently, CIO magazine has coined CCSK as the “mother of all cloud computing security certifications.” The reason behind it is that CCSK certification helps professionals upgrade themselves with entry-level to medium-range cloud security knowledge. Also, this certification mainly focuses on validating an individual’s knowledge regarding cloud security issues. CCSK training helps you gain deep insights into cloud security and related aspects while delivering a far-reaching understanding of how to address various cloud security concerns.

Knowledge required:

To go for CCSK, one must be well equipped with knowledge on:

  • CSA Guidance
  • CSA Cloud Control Matrix
  • ENISA document

Experience required:

Being an entry-level certification, CCSK does not require any prior experience. Everything one requires to get past this certification is to finish a target-type test with great information in the as-of-now referenced two key documents.

Exam Format:

CCSK is focused on testing information and follows the arrangement of the objective test which has multiple-choice answers.

Maintenance of Certification:

CCSK doesn’t have any hard-and-fast rules or annual charges to maintain the certification.

So that was pretty much everything about CCSK. Now, let’s talk about CCSP. Shall we?

What is CCSP?

CCSP or Certified Cloud Security Professional was introduced by Cloud Security Alliance (CSA) and ISC2 in 2015. This certification challenges the information and the handy experience of the applicants. Hence, CCSP offers inside-out proficient ideas in the area of Cloud Security. It has a worldwide acknowledgment, and like CCSK, experts with CCSP are in incredible interest. And the funny thing? Due to the comparative area of Cloud Security, we at times consider CCSP and CCSK as competitive certifications; however, the truth of the matter is that they complement one another.

Knowledge required:

CCSP certification requires a wide range of knowledge, along with the above-mentioned documents. The exam syllabus for this certification, too, is based on practical experience.

Experience required:

CCSP just permits experts with 5 years of involvement with the area. In the specific expressions of CCSP, the experience required is "least of 5 years of full-time, paid, combined data innovation, including, at any rate, 3 years of cloud security and 1 year of cloud computing."

Exam Format:

To pass the CCSP exam, one requires both theoretical and practical knowledge. Hence, the certification exam’s questions contain both objective and problem-solving questions.

Maintenance of Certification:

CCSP certification has its annual maintenance charges.

Now, let’s look at the differences between CCSK and CCSP certification at one glance:

Differences Between CCSK and CCSP Certification:

Differences Between CCSK and CCSP Certification


We can’t really draw a conclusion about which one is better: CCSK or CCSP. CCSK and CCSP both have their own advantages and disadvantages. 

Now comes the ultimate question: which one should you choose?

The coverage of CCSP is quite good too, but if you are planning on going for only one cloud security certification, you should choose CCSK. 

Why? Because it is 100% focused on cloud security and architectural patterns and also contains knowledge of cloud-specific technologies.

Thinking of going for your CCSK training? You can check out our CCSK training and certification course’s curriculum, and if that suits you, enroll yourself right away!

Topic Related Post

How much is a Certified Ethical Hackers Salary In India?
How Cybersecurity Is Contributing Towards Rail Modernization
CCSK vs CCSP: Comparing Cloud Security Certifications

About Author

Vinay has more than 14 yrs of experience in IT Industry and has worked as Tech Head with expertise in the areas like Enterprise IT Transformation, Blockchain, Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence, ITSM, SIAM and many more.



* Your personal details are for internal use only and will remain confidential.


Upcoming Events


Every Weekend


Every Weekend


Every Weekend


Every Weekend

Topic Related

Take Simple Quiz and Get Discount Upto 50%

Popular Certifications

AWS Solution Architect Associates
SIAM Professional Training & Certification
ITIL® 4 Foundation Certification
DevOps Foundation By DOI
Certified DevOps Developer
PRINCE2® Foundation & Practitioner
ITIL® 4 Managing Professional Course
Certified DevOps Engineer
DevOps Practitioner + Agile Scrum Master
ISO Lead Auditor Combo Certification
Microsoft Azure Administrator AZ-104
Digital Transformation Officer
Certified Full Stack Data Scientist
Microsoft Azure DevOps Engineer
OCM Foundation
SRE Practitioner
Professional Scrum Product Owner II (PSPO II) Certification
Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)
Practitioner Certified In Business Analysis
Certified Blockchain Professional Program
Certified Cyber Security Foundation
Post Graduate Program in Project Management
Certified Data Science Professional
Certified PMO Professional
AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner (CLF-C01)
Certified Scrum Product Owners
Professional Scrum Product Owner-II
Professional Scrum Product Owner (PSPO) Training-I
GSDC Agile Scrum Master
ITIL® 4 Certification Scheme
Agile Project Management
FinOps Certified Practitioner certification
ITSM Foundation: ISO/IEC 20000:2011
Certified Design Thinking Professional
Certified Data Science Professional Certification
Generative AI Certification
Generative AI in Software Development
Generative AI in Business
Generative AI in Cybersecurity
Generative AI for HR and L&D
Generative AI in Finance and Banking
Generative AI in Marketing
Generative AI in Retail
Generative AI in Risk & Compliance
ISO 27001 Certification & Training in the Philippines
Generative AI in Project Management
Prompt Engineering Certification
SRE Certification Course
Devsecops Practitioner Certification
AIOPS Foundation Certification
ISO 9001:2015 Lead Auditor Training and Certification
ITIL4 Specialist Monitor Support and Fulfil Certification
SRE Foundation and Practitioner Combo
Generative AI webinar
Leadership Excellence Webinar
Certificate Of Global Leadership Excellence
SRE Webinar
ISO 27701 Lead Auditor Certification